Nova Scotia included a considerable portion of New Brunswick. In 1785 the latter was made a separate province. Prince Edward Island, first named St. John's Island, annexed to Nova Scotia in 1763, was constituted a distinct colony in 1770. Cape Breton, separated politically from Nova Scotia in 1784, was re-annexed to the mother colony in 1820. Vancouver Island, which was a separate colony till 1866, was united that year to the mainland colony. The North-west Territories were acquired by purchase in 1870; other provinces subsequently joined. The island and territory of Northern British America were transferred to the Dominion by the British Government in 1880, and the Confederation, as it stands to-day, was completed. Newfoundland alone, of all the British North American group, remaining outside.

15. Representative institutions were granted by the British Government to Nova Scotia in 1758, to Prince Edward Island in 1770, and to New Brunswick in 1785. Vancouver Island received them in 1849 by Imperial Statutes 12 and 13 Vic., chap. 48, the first Legislature meeting in 1856; the mainland was granted them in 1858 by Imperial Statute 21 and 22 Vic., chap. 99. Responsible government was given by the Imperial Parliament to the Provinces of Canada in 1841, but not definitely established till 1847; to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in 1848; to Prince Edward Island in 1851, and to British Columbia in 1871. The North-west Territories were governed at first under the administration of the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba; then by a Lieutenant-Governor and Council nominated by the Dominion Government (Act of 1880); then by a Lieutenant-Governor and by a Council, part elected and part nominated; then, in 1888, by a Lieutenant-Governor and Elective Assembly. In the Session of 1890 the Federal Parliament provided for the adoption of responsible government.

16. Appended is a list of the Governors General and Governors of the several provinces before Confederation, together with the years of office.

GOVERNORS GENERAL OF CANADA.

GOVERNORS GENERAL OF CANADA.	
French.	French.
1534. Jacques Cartier, Captain General.	1663. Chevalier de Saffray de Mésy.
1540. Jean François de la Roque, Sieur de	1665. Marquis de Tracy. (a)
Roberval.	1665. Chevalier de Courcelles.
1598. Marquis de la Roche.	1672. Comte de Frontenac.
1600. Capitaine de Chauvin (Acting).	1682, Sieur de la Barre.
1603. Commandeur de Chastes.	1685. Marquis de Denonville.
1607. Pierre du Guast de Monts, LtGeneral.	1689. Comte de Frontenac.
1608. Comte de Soissons, 1st Viceroy.	1699. Chevalier de Callières.
1612. Samuel de Champlain, LtGeneral.	1703. Marquis de Vaudreuil.
1633. " 1st Gov. Gen'l.	1714-16. Comte de Ramesay (Acting).
1635. Marc Antoine de Bras de fer de Cha-	1716. Marquis de Vaudreuil.
teaufort (Administrator).	1725. Baron (1st) de Longueuil (Acting).
1636. Chevalier de Montmagny.	1726. Marquis de Beauharnois.
1648. Chevalier d'Ailleboust de Coulonge.	1747. Comte de la Galissonière. (b)
1651. Jean de Lauzon.	1749. Marquis de la Jonquière.
1656. Charles de Lauzon-Charny (Admr.)	1752. Baron (2nd) de Longueuil.
1657. D'Ailleboust de Coulonge.	1752. Marquis Duquesne-de-Menneville.
1658. Viscomte de Voyer d'Argenson.	1755. Marquis de Vaudreuil-Cavagnal.

⁽a.) Marquis de Tracy was the King's Lieut. General in America, and during the period he was in Canada, 30th June, 1665, to 28th August, 1667, he was virtually Governor of Canada.

1661. Baron Dubois d'Avaugour.

⁽b.) Acting during captivity of La Jonquière.